Thank you to everyone who entered the October-November 2011 photo competition.

With competition entrants submitting well-composed photos of a diverse range of subjects, it was quite a challenge to choose beween them. As well as selecting the winning photo, we have therefore awarded four joint second placings. These photos are all displayed below.

The winner of the October-November 2011 photo competition at the Australian Synchrotron is Chris McNeill from Monash University for a photo (see below) of the soft x-ray beamline analysis chamber.


Joint second placings go to the following, in no particular order:

A photo of the technical floor on Open Day (below), taken by Evelyne Meier, who holds a postdoctoral position with the synchrotron’s accelerator science team.


A photo of Open Day visitors reflected in the plastic safety screen shielding the laser light display in the IMBL tunnel (below), taken by Kia Wallwork, the synchrotron’s Principal Beamline Development and Operations Advisor.


A photo of AS staff member Chris Hall lining up with a row of pipe stands in the IMBL tunnel (below), taken by Robert Grubb (senior mechanical technician at the synchrotron).


A photo of Tubby the Robot at the synchrotron Open Day (below), taken by Shelly Beveridge, an Open Day visitor.


The next deadline for the photo competition is Friday 16 March 2012. Winners will be announced in the April 2012 edition of Lightspeed. Click here to submit your photo.