The Australian Synchrotron's Science Advisory Committee (SAC) has a new chair, Prof. Mitchell Guss from the University of Sydney, and several new members.

Prof. Guss thanked the outgoing chair, Prof. Ted Baker from the University of Auckland for his strong contribution to the Synchrotron’s strategic scientific direction.

New members are Prof. Keng Liang (National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan), Prof. Brian Stephenson (APS, Argonne National Laboratory, USA), Prof. Charlie Bond (University of Western Australia) and Prof. James Metson (University of Auckland).

Interim Director, Professor Andrew Peele welcomed the new SAC members: “The SAC has been a great source of advice and direction to the Australian Synchrotron. I thank the retiring members for their support of the facility and look forward to working with the new appointees.”

More information