Alloy membranes that can absorb and then release hydrogen are big business, with existing and potential applications including coal gasification, gas reforming, ammonia synthesis for fertilisers and explosives, synthetic diesel fuel production, and refuelling for fuel cell-powered vehicles.

The AS imaging and medical beamline has achieved ‘first light’ in the satellite building, 140 metres from the original x-ray source. At 50 cm wide and 4 cm high, this is the world’s biggest x-ray beam.

Young scientist Miriam-Rose Ash has been awarded the Australian Synchrotron Thesis Medal for her study into the essential roles that iron and copper play in living organisms.

Two Australian Synchrotron users, William Gee and David Ascher, are among the 12 winners of the prestigious Victoria Fellowships for 2012.

Flinders University researchers and synchrotron users Rachel Popelka-Filcoff and Claire Lenehan have been honoured with a 2012 Tall Poppy Award and the 2011 Robert Cattrall medal respectively.

The team that developed the Maia x-ray microprobe detector and imaging system used on the XFM beamline at the AS has been honoured with a 2012 Research Achievement Medal from CSIRO.

New Victorian Government programs support public research access to the synchrotron and provide opportunities for early-career researchers to build international networks with Nobel Laureates.

Submissions for round 2013/2 (May-September 2013) will open on 12 December 2012.

Reminder: 29-30 November 2012 is the date of the AS user meeting.

The 2012 Australian Synchrotron Open Day attracted around 3000 visitors.